A Lazy Afternoon at the Museu Nacional d’Art de Catalunya


One of the things that I enjoy the most about traveling, is watching people and taking in as much detail as I can from my surroundings.  Food, museums, random people, graffiti, exploring the town on foot, that’s what gives you a clue to the soul of a city. Barcelona was no exception.

My husband and I paid a couple of visits to the Museu Nacional d’Art de Catalunya – one of the most amazing places on this planet IMHO. On Sunday, the Museu closes at 2:30 p.m.   However, the weather was lovely and apparently locals and visitors like to hang out at the Museum’s front steps after closing time.

There is a small outdoors cafe where you can sit down, or you can simply park yourself on the steps and enjoy the view of the city.  There was also someone playing the guitar, which added to the charm of the afternoon.  And then there was a random wedding party, which completed the magic.  I don’t know who these people were, but I bet their wedding pictures against the city’s backdrop turned out to be amazing.

The avenue that leads up to the Museu is lined with stone pillars and spheres.  These are not part of the Museu, by the way.  Some enterprising artist decided to give one of the sphere’s a face.  But, I could not resist taking the picture of the little guy.

My husband says that he’d have missed it.  I say, when you look at life from your viewfinder, sometimes you can’t help see those little details…

And what can I say?  I love her hairdo.

2 thoughts on “A Lazy Afternoon at the Museu Nacional d’Art de Catalunya

  1. I have to agree–some people don’t like the idea of “living” through a viewfinder, but I find that it helps you to see things in a completely different way, and to notice things that you wouldn’t have noticed before. Love these shots 🙂

Leave a Reply

