The National Botanical Gardens or: The Joy of Cropping


The other day, my friend and I decided to take our cameras and pay a visit to the National Botanical Gardens in DC.

This is part of my plan of visiting as many local attractions as I can, on the basis that while the tourists get to visit all of the sightseeing areas, quite often we do not get to do it. Then we pay beaucoup money to travel to foreign places and visit their local monuments, museums, etc.

It makes absolutely no sense.

Being the lazy person I am, I decided that I didn’t want to carry a lot of equipment.  I knew that we would have to take Metro and do a lot of walking and who wants to lug a bazillion lenses all over the place? Therefore, I only carried my kit lens, a Nikkor 18-105, and called it a day.

I must confess that I am not the biggest nature photographer either.  My thing is photographing people, city scenes and buildings.  Macro photography and flowers?  Not so much.  Not because I don’t like it, but because for some reason I don’t do it very often.

Once we got there, I realized that having a longer lens might have been useful, especially because there were a lot of bees buzzing around the pretty flowers.

I like bees.

But since my little kit lens was all I had, I decided to make it work.  After all, that’s what cropping is for, especially if you have a vision in your head.

The results were quite pleasant:

Original Bees

Original picture, with bees!

DSC_0024

Cropped picture, with light adjustments in Lightroom

Here is the rest of the series.  Not all of them feature bees, but it was a great little experiment on shooting everything just with the kit lens.

 

Leave a Reply

